Once you have setup your schema mapping and mapped the source columns to the target columns, you should press the Compare A->B (shortcut F5) button on the toolbar to compare the source with the target.
This process loads your source and target data and then runs the data comparison to work out the ADD/UPDATE/DELETE actions to make the target the same as the source.
The Compare Results are affected by the synchronisation configuration of your target connection. By default Delete is always disabled, you can Enable and Disable any of the ADD/UPDATE/DELETE actions via these settings.
The Compare will still show the comparison results however where an action is disabled the sync check box will be cleared. This is a double opt-in check, for example if EnableDelete is false and you check a row in the results for delete it still will not be deleted unless EnableDelete is set true.
The Compare Results window shows a summary of the results, from here you can view the proposed changes, choose what to sync and export the results.
Selecting one of the Change Sets (ADD/UPDATE/DELETE) from the Results View allows you to view the actual data in this change set.
By default all the changes are included, however you can uncheck the sync check box against any changes you do not want to make. Additionally from the mini-toolbar you can check all, clear all and toggle the selected rows.
Where you have UPDATE actions, Data Sync will highlight the target columns with a yellow background that are to be updated. Since Data Sync compares the Data column by column only the changed/highlighted data is sent to the target.
To apply your changes, press the Synchronise button in the mini-toolbar.
This will then display the Synchronise Data dialog, pressing Start will begin the Synchronisation process.
You can export the Compare Results to either a Excel Spreadsheet or an Xml .NET DataSet format file via the Export buttons in the mini-toolbar.
The Data Compare Settings are used to control the comparison of data in Data Sync. You can change this on a column by column basis in the Schema Map.
Data Compare Mode is used to control how the source and target values are compared for UPDATE actions.
Data Sync default comparison mode is to compare that the values from each side are equal.
Default configuration where a change is detected when the values are not equal.
Where a change is detected when the values are equal.
Where a change is detected when the target value is less than the source. Typically used in 2-Way sync scenarios to prevent updates to a row when the Modified Date is greater on the Target.
Where a change is detected when the target value is greater than the source.
Where a change is detected when the target value is null or empty and the source has a value.
When the source has a value and the target is not equal to the source.
The Data Compare Mode typically is used in conjunction with the Trigger Update setting. This setting is used to decide what change(s) will cause an UPDATE action to be created.
For example in 2-Way sync where you have a modified DateTime value on each side which is updated when the row is changed. You would create 2 projects each running in a different direction.
The First project you would set TriggerUpdate=False on all columns in the Schema Map except for Modified and then set the Mode=TargetLessThan for the Modified Column. This causes Data Sync to only compare the values on this row when then Target Modified value is less than the source. i.e. the Source is more recent.
The Second project can now be setup as normal but in reverse, you then set the projects to run after each other in Ouvvi or the Run Tool.
The Ignore setting will prevent Data Sync comparing the value and generating an UPDATE action for this column, however if any other column causes an UPDATE action then the value of this column will be added to the change set. This is useful when you want to force a columns value to always be sent to the target.