User Guide

User settings

User settings can be used as a quick and easy way to configure projects, steps and specific settings within Ouvvi.

Below you will find how to create a new user setting, edit a user setting, delete a user setting and how to use user settings within Ouvvi.

Adding a New User Setting

To add a new user setting go to Settings > User Settings and click 'Add Setting'.

Add User Setting

Then enter in a name, description and value for the setting and choose if you want this setting to be visible, hidden, connection string or encrypted.

New User Setting

Once you are done, press Save.

Editing a User Setting

To edit a user setting locate the setting under User Settings and click on the name of the setting you wish to edit. This will open the Edit Setting page. Make the desired changes and press Save once you are done.

Edit User Setting

Deleting a User Setting

To delete a user setting locate the setting under User Settings and click the X next to the setting to be deleted.

Delete User Setting

This will open the confirmation page. If you are sure you wish to delete the setting then press Delete.

Delete Confirmation

Using a User Setting

User settings can be used within step and trigger configurations, as well as in some connection configurations.

Where it is possible to apply a user setting a cog will be present at the end of the configuration setting text box. Click on this cog and choose from the string builder your user setting. You can use multiple settings within the string builders.

For example, these user settings can be used when configuring a SQL trigger:

Click on the cog to open the string builder.

Trigger Configuration

Choose the user setting from the list, in this case we are setting the connection string.

String Builder

Here we have used the {{SQLNorthWindConnection}} user setting to set the connection string and the {{CommandTimeOut}} user setting to set the command time out to 90 seconds.