Synchronizing Data to Dynamics CRM (Contacts)

Tutorial showing how to import / synchronise contacts in a csv file to Dynamics CRM

Prerequisites

Follow the previous tutorial:
CONNECTING TO A DATASOURCE (CSV FILE)

Then connect Data Source B (right hand side) to Dynamics CRM using the tutorial CONNECTING TO DYNAMICS CRM

Once connected, you should see a list of the fields from the source, but the Destination Columns in the mapping section will read <NONE> because we have yet to connect them together.

You can map these to the target in several different ways:

  • Map by dragging and dropping the Data Source B column onto the 'Destination Column' in the 'Schema Map' Tab

Mapping Drag and Drop

  • Alternatively, map the columns together by the drop-down in the Destination column which contains all of the possible field you can map to.

Mapping Dropdwon

Check the check-box in the Key Column in the email row to tell DS3 that the email address is a good way to uniquely identify a contact.

Once you have completed the mapping it will look something like this:

Completed Mapping

Note: email has been used as a key but care must be taken as this may not always be the case.

You can compare the Source and Destination by clicking 'Compare A -> B' on the tool bar:

Compare A to B

This will load the data from the csv file and the contact entity and perform a reconciliation to identify missing or changed items in the target.

The reconciliation result is displayed in the in the Compare Results Panel:

Compare Results

Clicking on the (green +) will preview the rows to be added.

Green +

DELETE IS DISABLED BY DEFAULT

When you first connect to a Destination System, DS3 automatically sets the EnableDelete Setting in the provider to false to make sure no items in the destination system can be deleted by accident. This can be changed to true if you want to delete items from CRM.

SYNCHRONISE

To synchronize the CSV file and the Dynamics CRM contact entity, click on the 'Synchronise' button in the taskbar:

Synchronise

A dialog will appear which allows you to choose whether to stop the processing in the event of any errors:

Sync

Pressing 'Start' will begin the synchronization:

Sync

COMPARE AGAIN

When you have finished a synchronization it is always a good idea to check everything has been synchronized by comparing A->B again.

Once completed, you can check all of the fields match in the target system by reconciling them again by using the 'Compare A->B' feature.
There should be no records to update:

Compare


Can't find the answers you're looking for? Contact our support team and we'll personally get back to you as quickly as we can.